Bishop Kammerer preaches during Memorial Service
Bishop Kammerer preaches during Memorial Service

2012 Southeastern
Jurisdictional Conference

The 2012 Southeastern (SEJ) Jurisdictional Conference will meet July 18-20 in the George R. Stuart Auditorium at Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center, which is nestled in the Great Smoky Mountains in western North Carolina.

The conference will officially open on Wednesday, July 18, 2012, with worship at 9 a.m. Five bishops will be elected by delegates to the jurisdictional conference, including 52 delegates from the Virginia Conference, and all bishops will be assigned to geographical areas.

Bishop Kammerer with Dr. Young Jin Cho immediately following his election as bishop.
Bishop Kammerer embraces the Rev. Dr. Young Jin
Cho immediately following his election as bishop.


The Rev. L. Jonathan Holston of the North Georgia Conference.
The Rev. Ken Carter of the Western North Conference.
The Rev. Bill McAlilly of the Mississippi Conference.
The Rev. Dr. Debra Wallace-Padgett, Kentucky Conference
The Rev. Dr. Young Jin Cho, Virginia Conference


View photos on flickr
Virginia Conference photos can be viewed here.

Daily Christian Advocates:

DCA - Tuesday, July 17
DCA - Wednesday, July 18
DCA - Thursday, July 19
DCA - Friday, July 20
DCA - Saturday, July 21 (wrap-up edition)

2012 SEJ Conference Journal (click here)

Live streaming of the jurisdictional conference will begin on Sunday, July 15, with pre-conference activites and conclude with the 10 a.m. Friday, July 20, consecration of newly elected bishops. The SEJ Committee on Episcopacy will host a process to allow delegates to become better acquainted with episcopal nominees on Tuesday, July 17.

Episcopal Nominees

The Rev. Dr. Young Jin Cho, superintendent of the Arlington District, is the 2012 episcopal nominee from the Virginia Conference. More ...

Meet the episocpal nominees in the Southeastern Jurisdiction:

2012 SEJ live streaming schedule (shown via the link below):

SEJ website
SEJ Facebook page:

Virginia Conference Delegates to the 2012 SEJ Conference

SEJ Conference Elected Clergy:
1. Thomas M. Berlin
2. Beth C. Downs
3. Clarence R. Brown
4. J. Denise Honeycutt
5. Rhonda VanDyke Colby
6. Peter M. Moon
7. Tammy Estep
8. Marc D. Brown
9. Theodore Smith
10. Amanda Garber
11. G. Kirk Nave
12. Young Jin Cho
13. Brenda J. Biler
14. Ileana Rosario
15. Keith D. Boyette
16. Youtha C. Hardman-Cromwell          
17. Larry Jent
18. Lorenzo D. Hill
19. Phyllis R. Earley
20. Paulo Cesar Da Silva
21. Ernest “Tommy” Herndon Jr.
22. Stephen C. Hundley
23. Kristin Marie Holbrook
24. F. Elizabeth Givens
25. Jeffrey P. Mickle
26. Mary Beth Blinn
Clergy Alternates:
1. David V. Ford
2. Mark V. Ogren
3. Steven R. Jones
4. George H. Freeman
5. Daniel Edward Elmore
6. Alexander B. Joyner
7. Mark A. Miller
8. Susan S. Garrett
9. Frances T. Cooper
10. Kenneth J. Jackson

SEJ Conference Elected Laity:
1. Shirley Cauffman
2. Darlene Amon
3. Ron Hardman
4. Jim Branscome
5. Nathaniel L. Bishop
6. Marshall Bailey
7. Martha E. Stokes
8. David Brown
9. Susie Wolf
10. Carol A. Gaston
11. Dorothy C. Ivey
12. Larry Burian
13. Gene Mims
14. Miran Kim
15. Rachel Hundley
16. Olivia Hinton
17. Ana Maria Lopez
18. Andrew Ware
19. Neill Caldwell
20. Andrew DiAntonio
21. Jacob Stephen Paysour
22. Willard H. Douglas Jr.
23. Janet Bracey
24. Larry Tubbs
25. Robert Orcutt
26. Sandra W. Baker

Laity Alternates:
1. Rose Teague
2. Adam Jenkins
3. Carol Sanger
4. Kevin M. Sabo
5. Kenneth Bosley
6. Carl Moravitz
7. Louise Landis Miller
8. Cecelia Short
9. Iris Smith
10. Jonathan Greer

2012 SEJ Conference Journal (click here)


2012 SEJ Conference Journal (click here)


2012 SEJ Conference Journal (click here)


2012 SEJ Conference Journal (click here)


2012 SEJ Conference Journal (click here)


2012 SEJ Conference Journal (click here)


The Cross and Flame is a registered trademark, and the use is supervised by the General Council on Finance and Administration (GCFA) of The United Methodist Church. Permission to use the Cross and Flame must be obtained from the GCFA, Attn: Legal Department, PO Box 340029, Nashville, TN 37203-0029; phone 615-369-2334; fax 615-369-2330

Background photos courtesy of VDOT.

The Virginia Conference of The United Methodist Church
10330 Staples Mill Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060
P.O. Box 5606, Glen Allen, VA 23058-5606
(804) 521-1100
Click here for directions to the Center